Arizona Mechanics Lien Laws

Individuals involved in the construction industry in the state of Arizona should be aware of important statute of limitations on liens in the state. Do not become another victim to unscrupulous developers or property owners. Know your rights under Arizona lien laws.

Notice Requirements for Mechanics Liens in Arizona

Primary Contractors

In Arizona, a primary contractor is required to give written preliminary notice of his/her intention to lien within twenty (20) days after they have provided labor, materials, or services to an owner, prime contractor, and construction lender. This timetable is set forth in Arizona Property Law Statute 33-992.01, and pertains to subcontractors and construction lenders who wish to place a lien on a property.

Primary contractors must record notice and claim of lien within sixty (60) days of the filing and service of the notice of completion, or within 120 days of completion, whichever occurs first. Notice must be served on the owner “within a reasonable time” thereafter. If you intend to foreclose based upon your mechanic's lien, this action must be commenced within six (6) months after recording your Claim of Lien. Once you do this, a lis pendens notice must be filed within five (5) days.

Sub Contractors in Arizona

Subcontractors are required to give written preliminary notice of your intention to lien within twenty (20) days after you have provided labor, materials, or services to an owner, prime contractor, and/or construction lender. This timetable is established in Arizona Statute 33-992.01, which also pertains to primary contractors and construction lenders who wish to place a lien on a property.

You are required to record your Notice and Claim of Lien within 60 days of the filing and service of the Notice of Completion or within 120 days of completion, whichever occurs first. Notice must be served on the owner “within a reasonable time” thereafter. If your intention is to foreclose based upon your mechanic's lien, sub contractors must start this process within six (6) months after recording claim of lien for a given project. Following this, a lis pendens notice has to be made within five (5) days. However, if you are the actual laborer for wages, no preliminary notice is required.

Material Suppliers in Arizona

Under Arizona Property Law, a primary contractor is required to give written preliminary notice of his/her intention to lien within twenty (20) days after they have provided labor, materials, or services to an owner, prime contractor, and construction lender, or any individual or organization with whom these entities have contracted. Any notice and claim of lien must be recorded within sixty (60) days of the filing and service of the notice of completion or within one hundred and twenty (120) days of completion, whichever happens first. Notice has to be offered to an owner “within a reasonable time” after this period. If a supplier needs to foreclose based upon a mechanic's lien, suppliers must start this process within six (6) months after recording your claim of lien. Following this, a lis pendens notice must be filed within five (5) days.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Real Estate attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you